Nunasaram: a review

I’ve always maintained that the local iced dessert, ice kachang, made of shaved ice, is the best dessert for a hot hot day in Singapore, even better than ice cream which melts and gets all sticky on you. But recently, a friend introduced me to bingsu. For the uninitiated, bingsu is a cold korean dessert of shaved milk. I’m a little lactose intolerant, so I was a bit wary of this dessert when she took us to Nunsaram at Orchard Central but we just had a huge meal of korean bbq and dessert was desperately needed as a finishing touch.

IMG_20151005_200133

Anyhow, there were a lot of flavors of bingsu to choose from, but thankfully my friend is a decisive sort of person, or we might have been the whole night and still not come to a decision! So we ended up with one with almonds, and there were some berries (I think). And I think it was shaved coconut milk. The serving size was huge though. Luckily we knew our limits and only ordered one. If we had ordered two or more, I don’t think we would have finished it. Their bingsus were between $13-$16. I know they had other korean desserts there as well, but that’s all we ordered.

Frankly, $13 is a bit much to pay for what is essentially a variant of ice cream. But the novelty factor is there, and I’ll be honest, it tasted quite good too. It was very smooth, almost like ice cream, but not as sticky as ice cream and the texture of it was quite fun. But its definitely one of those things that you would go to once in a while, for like say, someone is in town to visit, or there’s a special occasion to celebrate. To simply satisfy my thirst, or to cool me down….probably too expensive. For that, I’ll stick with my $2.50 ice kachang.

Nunsaram Korean Dessert Cafe
181 orchard rd #05-51/52 Orchard Central, Singapore 238896 (Somerset MRT)
Opening Hours: 11am – 10pm (Mon-Sun)
https://www.facebook.com/NUNSARAMSG

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

