Chao Shan Cuisine

So in Singapore, we don’t judge a restaurant by its decor or its ambiance (well, I don’t anyway) because like any true blooded foodie, we know that good food is judged by whether or not the tables are full and how much food there is on the table.

So one day, my aunt decided to treat us to dinner. I really don’t remember what the occasion or if there was one except that maybe she wanted someone to be there to accompany her to dinner. Anyway, she decided to treat us to a typical teochew dinner. We met her at Chao Shan Cuisine, which is located on Beach Road. Apparently its supposed to be a family business and there’s another one with a similar sounding name due to some rival fractions within the family. Anyway, my aunt said that this is the original one and so die die almost must try!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Their fish porridge is supposed to be one of the best. I have to say, it definitely tastes a lot better than what my grandmother makes. Her’s is always very watery and it feels like you are filling your belly up with rice water, but even though this is watery (apparently all Teochew porridge is like this), you can taste the sweetness of the porridge. I really enjoyed the steamed fish which was fresh and bouncy. Given my past experience with Teochew cuisine, I was surprised to find myself enjoying the food. My grandmother is teochew but her food is always very oily and “wet”. My mom mostly cooks Cantonese cuisine which tastes completely different.

Anyways, like I mentioned earlier. The ambience? Well, its not air conditioned. It doesn’t have mood lighting and whatnot. But the tables? Always full. Its always a long wait to get a seat and the bigger your party is, the longer the wait. We ate outside, al-fresco style. And it was definitely worth all the perspiration!

Chao Shan Cuisine

85 Beach Road

Hours

Mon 11:30 am2:30 pm
6:00 pm10:00 pm
Tue 11:30 am2:30 pm
6:00 pm10:00 pm
Wed 11:30 am2:30 pm
6:00 pm10:00 pm
Thu 11:30 am2:30 pm
6:00 pm10:00 pm
Fri 11:30 am2:30 pm
6:00 pm10:00 pm
Sat 11:30 am2:30 pm
6:00 pm10:00 pm
Sun 11:30 am2:30 pm
6:00 pm10:00 pm
Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

