Mon talks

I did it! I finally did it! I shaved my head! Turns out I don’t have aloplecia. Or plagiocephaly. Maybe a bit of benign hydrocephaly. But hey! I’ll take what I can get! In the meantime, I’ve reached $900 of my $1000 goal. And all those who donated get 3 times the tax refund at tax time because of SG50! So if you haven’t donated, maybe you want to reconsider? But yep! I made a BALD statement and I’m officially botak!

As if that wasn’t exciting enough, I managed to snag an invite to the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) 50th Anniversary Open House at the Istana! For those of you not in the know, the Istana is Singapore’s White House. It was bombed in WWII and they remodeled the part of the house where the bomb went through with a spiral staircase because that House is THAT IMPORTANT. And you know what’s the best part? I SAW THE PRESIDENT! IN PERSON! How cool is that??!! And one of the SAF guys told me that the Istana means the “White Palace” in malay. I don’t know if that’s true. But hey! Its the only Palace we have in Singapore!

Me! At the Istana Gates!
Me! At the Istana Gates!
The President is IN THE HOUSE!
The President is IN THE HOUSE!
The Istana House
The Istana House
In the meantime, my wedding is looming. And I still don’t have a dress. And I’m still trying to figure out how I want to look on that day. I’ve been googling images of bald brides for inspiration. And I found this great story of a bride who found out she had lymphoma and decided to go ahead and marry the love of her life anyway, bald, and without a wig. I love that story.

Isn’t she gorgeous? I got it from Noblebuzz.com

I read this great article in the Guardian about marriage and statistics. Apparently both the Beau and I belong in the ‘bad’ statistics but guess what? There is always a chance that something isn’t going to work. But if we only pay attention to the statistics and not to our hearts we’ll never take chances in life and experience some of the best things in life. I’m willing to take a chance on the Beau.

Also, I bet I’m not the only person who feels awful in a swimsuit, and that was my excuse for not swimming for years and years. Well, that changed recently. I felt like I really had to try to lose some weight, the healthy way, and since there is a pool in my condominium, it seemed silly not to use it. So I started swimming again. But till today, I will only swim if a friend comes along or if its late enough that I can be certain no one else will be there to see me in my swimsuit. I also wear a rather ridiculous one piece. It is literally a costume. But this article on how real women around the world learnt how to feel comfortable in their own skin and their bathing suits makes me think that I really should take a deep breath and take the plunge in the pool. In daylight.

And who knew? Apparently models have cellulite too. And she still looks gorgeous as heck.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

