Mon Inspiration

Right. So similar to the brides on the UK show “Don’t tell the Bride”, I don’t have any control over the wedding. We also don’t have 14,000 pounds for a wedding. Luckily, I sorta have control over the wedding dress. Sort of. Meaning, I’m going to be buying a dress over the internet and praying its as pretty as I think its going to be. I was looking through some wedding pictures and trying to figure out what sort of dress I should try to fit into. According to a bodyshape calculator, I’m straight shaped and according to David’s Bridal, I should get an a-lined shaped dress or a sheath dress. And I’ve been looking. Believe me. I’ve been looking. To the point of distraction. I’ve neglected my research work and I’m terribly disappointed with myself. I really really need to focus on work next week.

In the meantime, Taylor Swift (ie Queen Midas of the Music World) wore a headpiece I would love to wear on my wedding day in NY with a purple outfit. It is like, mad cute. Although I’m still looking for a juliet cap veil because my mom wore one on her wedding day.

In terms of dream wedding gown, the dress that Caitlyn Jenner wore to the Espy Awards is my dream wedding gown. Except she has nicer hips. And boobs than me. So I guess that’s not going to work on me either. In fact, having looked at so many dresses this past week, I almost wish I work at a bridal boutique so that I can get an employee’s discount on my dream gown.

Also, in more wedding news, there was a great Modern Love article in the New York Times about love not always being perfect, and that you may love your partner to the moon and back and yet… I hope I remember that.

The Russian Princess is also suggesting that we have a unity ceremony. The Beau and I had originally planned a simple wedding, ie someone marries us and we all head over to a restaurant for lunch. But she’s suggesting things like a unity ceremony and seashell like decor. And I’m afraid that I’ve rejected them all even though she is my matron of honor. I feel terrible and I find myself leaning towards saying yes to the unity ceremony. I wonder if I’m the only person who has found her “simple” wedding snowballing into its own monster. I understand that we all get to throw parties from time to time (although as I’m getting older, throwing a party is becoming more of a rarity) and that the Wedding is like the Party of Your Life. Apparently people judge who you are as a couple based on your wedding. But both the Beau and I are supremely lazy people. And we aren’t the most social. In fact, he was wondering if we would be able to get dinner over and done with ASAP so that we can go home and rest (I can’t bring myself to tell him what a Singapore wedding would be like…I figured I would just spring it on him when its time to renew our vows *hee*). Does anyone have any clue how to do a unity ceremony? The kits online are expensive (but very nicely personalized). I suppose if I was going to keep to a budget I could get it made for a much lower price….but I’m also (ahem) lazy.

Well, its Monday. Time to get to work!

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

