Mon thoughts

11058611_10153286686211117_2338612046096337969_nWhat an absolutely wonderful weekend for my friends in the US! The Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) made the Supreme Ruling that all people, regardless of their sexual orientation, are to have the right to marry whomever they choose! Hip Hip hooray! I hope this means that I’ll be invited to a lot more weddings this year. A marriage is a sacred contract between two people and I do not think that it should only be allowed to be between a man and a woman. I also know that a lot of people have an opposite view from mine. But look at it this way, you have your views, I have mine. As little as 50 years ago, people of different races were not allowed to marry because it was “wrong”. Today, no one even blinks an eye. So I hope with all my heart that even those who are not happy with this ruling will accept it and learn to embrace it. I’m not going to demand that you be happy with it, but to try to be happy for those who have been living in the shadows for so long.

Also, how can you not be happy when videos like this are created as a result of this ruling?

And while we are talking about equality. Why are women the only ones who have to suffer for beauty? Why are we the only ones who have to wear stilettos to “look good”? Also, did you know that men wore heels first so that they would appear taller than women? I bet they figured out it was painful as hell and a ridiculously silly idea and decided that they should let women do the suffering instead! Well, no more!

And you know how some people (ok, me) think that it must be great to be a princess? Well, I guess so did Amy Schumer until she has to marry her first cousin and gets beheaded too! Makes me glad that I am living a perfectly peasant life! No prince. But I have a sweet caring partner and that’s enough for me!

And speaking of marrying a prince. What happens when you and the prince have a baby? Crying babies are one of the reasons why I can’t have a child. I don’t deny that moments like these are sweet and tear jerking. But oy vey. So stressful!

And for mothers with children who have autism, take heart. The world is learning, slowly but surely, to learn how to adapt to having children who are different from their own:

Dear (Super Cool) Mom,

You don’t know me and I don’t know you, but my son, Timothy, sometimes sits beside your son at school.

Timothy has severe autism spectrum disorder. He is also a 7-year-old little boy who loves and plays with all of his heart. He needs a lot of extra help at school and sometimes seems just plain oblivious to what’s happening right underneath his nose.

He wants friends but sometimes doesn’t know how to make them.

He wants to play but sometimes doesn’t know how to ask.

He wants to be included but sometimes doesn’t know how.

We parents of children with special needs know only too well the hurt our kids feel when they are left out of the social gatherings.

Organized sports, play dates, sleepovers and yes, the dreaded birthday parties. 

I can say whole-heartedly that my son has not attended a single one. We have received countless invitations in the past few years, but mostly by kids who mercilessly invite the entire class. Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful. 

But I wonder if the parents know what would happen if I brought Timothy? The interruptions, the meltdowns. How I would hate to take the spotlight from the birthday child.

So we politely decline. Every single one.

Until your invitation arrived in the mail with a special note. It read:

“Carter sat beside Timothy at

TIMBERKY

school and he always talks about him. I really hope he can come. We are renting a bounce castle that we can attach a small bounce slide at the bottom. We will also have water balloon’s and water guns. Maybe Timothy can come earlier in the day if it would be too much with the whole class. Let me know how we can make it work.”

You wrote exactly what I needed to see that day and didn’t even know it. 

Because of your son he is included.

Because of your son he feels wanted.

Because of your son he has a voice.

And I want you to know that because of you I can get through another day.

Because of you I can get through another appointment.

Because of you I can take more stares and more questions.

Because of you I have hope for Timothy’s future.

I just wanted to tell you what a fantastic job you are doing with your son.

This mom will be RSVPing a hell yes for the first time ever. And I can’t wait.

Sincerely,

Timothy’s very grateful Mom

Read more: http://themighty.com/2015/06/to-the-mother-whose-son-sits-next-to-my-son-with-autism-at-school1/#ixzz3eFzjshvz

Also, the Minions movie is out! Which means the BBC has to have some fun with them too! So just for tickles….

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

