Leather crafts with The General Company @ Tyrwhitt Road

On a whim, I signed up for a leather crafts workshop today. It was a “basic” leather workshop. Before your jaws drop to the floor and hits it really really hard, I would like to announce (quite proudly) that I wasn’t kicked out of the class. Nor did I sustain any injuries during the workshop. Quite a miraculous feat considering that I once almost required stitches simply from making a Styrofoam sailing boat for Science. And EVERY art teacher who has ever taught me have all unanimously agreed that I was much safer in the science stream, in spite of the prospect of me making the smelliest organic compound in Chemistry lab.

Also, I once almost failed Biology because every question required a drawing of either some cells, or a plant or part of a biological specimen (my GCE O level exam involved a slice of unripened banana, which was not recognizable, and which I was not able to draw even though I had memorized a picture of a slice of a banana dissected in the trans-plane) Clearly, Art, and its related cousin, Crafts, and I were not meant for each other. I think my idea of doing crafts is putting stickers on my computer.

A sample of the goods found in The General Company
A sample of the goods found in The General Company

This particular workshop was held by the Leather craftsman (his name is Xie Hui) from Stone For Gold at The General Company, located at Tyrwhitt Road, above what was formerly a hardware store (Cheng Seng Huat hardware store) but which now sells very aromatic coffee. The store itself sells some unique quirky stuff, which I believe is designed by Singaporeans.

Its a pretty small class held in a corner of the store. First, you have to choose your leather. And because I was slightly late (all those small streets were highly confusing!) I didn’t really have many choices but I knew that I wanted to leave with an embossed product so I chose a smooth kind of leather, which I hope would work.

piece of leather
Step one: Choose your leather

After a small introduction to the different types of leather and how they are treated, we were each given a template. The instructor then proceeded to demonstrate what we had to do. Now, another reason why I signed up for the class is because in the workshop description, it says no experience needed. I took it to mean that they meant no skills, artistic or otherwise, was needed. It sounded simple enough, but oi! Are my arms sore from all the force needed to cut through that leather. I may never begrudge how expensive those leather handbags are ever again!! I’m also not very good with round corners and after a couple of tries, Xie Hui ended up just rounding the corners for me *hee*

Step 2: Cut the leather into the shape desired using the template provided
Step 2: Cut the leather into the shape desired using the template provided
Step 3: Punch some holes so that you can stick the ball thingy to hold the whole thing together.
Step 3: Punch some holes so that you can stick the ball thingy to hold the whole thing together.
Step four: Emboss the namecard holder with  if a lot of brute strength. Or ask the instructor very nicely if he can do it for you...
Step four: Emboss the namecard holder with if a lot of brute strength. Or ask the instructor very nicely if he can do it for you…

There is an advanced class which, from the sounds of it, will involve some sewing. And probably more upper extremity muscle strength. I haven’t signed up for it because I have a rather heavy workload next week. But this class has definitely whetted my appetite for more. They also have a shoe-making class which I’m really tempted to signup for….anyway wants to join me?

Viola! The finished product. I hope the Beau likes it.
Viola! The finished product. I hope the Beau likes it.
Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

3 thoughts on “Leather crafts with The General Company @ Tyrwhitt Road”

Leave a Reply

