TGIS (Thank Goodness its Saturday)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Phew, its almost the end of the week (for most people, it IS the end of the week) and the weekend means its time to start celebrating and I don’t know how you celebrate, but I celebrate by finding good food to eat. Because honestly, a happy stomach makes the world a much happier place.

My mom and I had discovered Tim Ho Wan while we were in Hong Kong a few years ago. It was my second Michelin restaurant that trip (man, we were on a roll!). The first one was in Macau and it was a little Portuguese restaurant that specialized in traditional Macau-nese food. I have to admit that I wasn’t particularly impressed with the Portuguese restaurant but I was definitely impressed with Tim Ho Wan. The food was good and it was a great pre-flight meal.

When Tim Ho Wan opened a branch in Singapore I was super excited but the queue was so incredibly long that I never bothered and then they opened a branch at Bedok Mall and we braved the crowd. Yes, the buns were still very good, but everything else seemed to pale in comparison with the original. Our second and third trips were disappointing especially since we were only there for the pork bun and somehow the outer shell wasn’t as crispy as the first time round and the meat was too sweet.

My aunt decided to visit for the CNY holiday and we were shopping at Plaza Singapura. It was around dinner time and we all decided we should give the original Singapore branch of Tim Ho Wan a try. I’m glad we did namely because I’m normally too busy to go all the way downtown to eat and I’m not sure when we’ll have a chance again. The pork bun was delicious (phew!). We also tried their CNY specialty of the sesame seed bun. It was a little salty, but not too bad. The pork ribs were run-of-the-mill.  The shrimp vermicelli was very good (just sweet enough). The pork balls were sinfully good. I think I left the restaurant at least a size bigger than when I entered it.

Tin Ho Wan has opened quite a number of branches in Singapore. I really hope they will make a better effort to ensure the quality of food is equal in all their branches. It will be rather disappointing if they don’t.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

