simple but elegant

I don’t think I’ll ever be accused of being a cook. Nor will I ever admit to faithfully following any recipes, even when I know better. But I do so love reading through recipes and salivating through all the pretty photos and wondering why my food never looks as good as they do in the books. Obviously, one of the first issues is that I’ve never been quite organized enough to get all the prerequisite ingredients. Sometimes I do try but when the ingredient list is a mile long, I kind of give up half way and start substituting. The other thing is by the time the food is cooked, I’ve given up on how it should look and want to start digging into it as soon as possible because I’m just so darn hungry.

However, when I was living in Los Angeles with D, I wanted to cook for him but our kitchen had some limitations, namely: no stove. BUT we did have a slow cooker. Anyway, I found this fantastic recipe from Food52 for a seafood stew and I made it for him because it looked so darn delicious. And then I moved and I lost the recipe but I finally found it again so I thought I would post it just so that it would be easier for me to find it again when I have the opportunity to make it again. I’m adding my own adaptations to the recipe but these will be added in italics in case you want to follow through with the original way of making it.

Serves 4 to 6

  • 1/3cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 crushed garlic cloves
  • 6 peeled and seeded roma tomatoes cut into thin strips (I used cherry tomatoes and I only cut them in half)
  • 1 cup homemade fish stock, purchased seafood stock or clam juice
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 pound skinned saltwater fish filets(snapper, sole, halibut, cod) cut into 2 inch chunks
  • 16 large peeled and deveined raw shrimp
  • 16 sea scallops
  • 1/2 cup finely shredded fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup chopped flat leaf parsley
  • I also added some mushrooms because D loves mushrooms
  1. Heat the oil in a 4 to 6 quart dutch oven or sauce pot. (I had a travelling pot that acted like an electric stove). Add the crushed garlic and saute on very low heat for about two minutes or until the garlic is fragrant but not browned.
  2. Add the tomatoes, stock and wine and simmer for about 10 minutes. (At this point you can cool and refrigerate this if you want to prep a day ahead – just reheat before adding the seafood) (I placed the tomatoes, mushrooms, stock and wine into the crockpot and cooked it for about 4 hour on low before pouring in the fried garlic)
  3. Add the fish and seafood and simmer for about 5 minutes until just done (Don’t over cook!) (so this part is tricky. I was worried the fish might not be cooked so I left it in the crockpot for an hour). Stir in the parsley and basil and serve immediately ( with that crusty bread!!)

Hopefully I’ll get a chance to make this again. And hopefully I’ll remember to take some pictures this time!

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

