The origins of Chocolate

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was PapaMonkey’s birthday yesterday and we celebrated with cake from Chocolate Origin instead of Lana Cakes, which is our usual go-to whenever it comes to chocolate cake. The main reason is that Lana Cake really is located too far away. Another reason is that the quality of her cakes are not as consistently good as it used to be. When I was younger, one could always be assured of the quality of her chocolate cakes. Her chocolate cakes have the right “sponge-ness” and the chocolate itself is never too sweet. Lately however, sometimes the cake is too dry, even though more often times than not it is just right but because you can never be sure on when it is the right consistency.

Anyway, we figured that we ought to try something new this year so I took a bus after work to Changi Village. I know that there are more accessible places to get Chocolate Origin’s chocolate cakes: for example, Bugis Village or Ang Mo Kio hub, but honestly, I believe that if you are going to try something for the first time, you have to go straight to where it all started.

Speaking of Changi Village, I am surprised at how lively its gotten. It used to be this really quiet village but when I went there to collect the cake for PapaMonkey, it was quite crowded. I thought maybe they were all returning from a weekend at Batam or Pulau Ubin. But nope, people were sitting in the coffee shops, both the local versions and the atas cafes. I saw a couple of places that I think I would like to try.

Right. Back to the chocolate cake. It was surprisingly good. Its not Lana’s cake, but it was good (we ordered the dark chocolate version). The consistency of the cake felt more like an ice cream cake.  The dark chocolate made it taste a little like a coffee cake. We had ordered the small version and it was definitely smaller than I thought it would be but it was sufficient for 5 adults and a small child. It was $36 (plus tax) for a small cake which I thought was a teeny bit on the pricey side but according to my mother, that’s the market rate so I’m not going to complain about that.

It does allow you to make an order via their website, which is very useful, but they only allow you to pay by PayPal, which is annoying in my opinion since PayPal (at least my PayPal anyway) makes the charges in USD. And when I showed up to buy the cake in person, they only allow you to pay by cash or Nets, also somewhat annoying in my opinion.

Well, here’s the important information:

Changi Village.

Blk 4 Changi Village Road
#01-2084 Singapore 500004

Mon – Thur :
12pm – 9pm
Fri – Sun :
10.30am – 10pm
(65) 6542 2939        

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

3 thoughts on “The origins of Chocolate”

  1. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog
    on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, very good site!

    Like

  2. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after going through some of
    the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I
    came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back
    regularly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

