Manners maketh man

Over the CNY holidays, I treated myself and my mother (it is the new year after all…so if you can’t treat yourself then, when can you treat yourself?) to an afternoon at the movies.

She had mentioned that she wanted to watch Kingsman. She had seen the trailer a few months back and thought that it would be a fun movie. She’s a big fan of the old James Bond movies. You know the ones I’m talking about: Sean Connery looking suave, Timothy Dalton who always looked so amused about the whole shebang. Those movies were fun, all to be taken with a grain of salt, a wink and a smile, ya know? Those gadgets that Q dreamt up were cute toys and I’m sure that if they could have figured out how to franchise and sell them, they would have!

But the Bourne movies happened and spy movies suddenly became serious and action packed and very bloody with high body counts.  Enter Daniel Craig, the Tortured Bond. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy his Bond movies. But they are vastly different from that of the old days. I think Pierce Brosnan was the last of the fun Bond movies.

Well, never mind. Now we have the Kingsman. Bloody with high body counts. But fun. There are nods to the old spy movies. They try to make it a bit more modern, of course. But you know the Brits: they rather enjoy poking fun at everything and everyone. I’m quite surprised we haven’t heard the Swedish protesting the movie yet. But maybe the Swedes have a better sense of humour than I thought. After all, that Ikea advert satirising the old Apple ads were quite clever.

The movie is very sleek. The product placements (I notice them all the time now) are subtle so it doesn’t subtract my enjoyment of the movie too much. The action is very John Woo in nature. And the plot does have little twists and turns in there that I did not quite expect. D had said it would be too much like Men in Black. And I’m glad I didn’t listen to him. And I’m glad I went in with an open mind because it really isn’t at all like Men in Black.

Also, I can’t remember if Samuel Jackson has always spoken with a lisp or if he was just hamming it up for the movie. And those blades! I can’t help but wonder if they were placed on Sofia Boutella as a not so subtle nod to the Bladerunner saga. I’ll also admit that I’ve been partial to Colin Firth since Pride and Prejudice. And I do think that he has been aging very beautifully. The scene outside e church was quite devastating and the carnage that occurred before it was gorgeously choreographed. The soundtrack is freak and the popping heads were absolutely hilarious. A friend of mine describes it as a funny version of Kill Bill.

I’m not a movie critic. But I will say this: it was a fun movie and I’m glad I went to watch it in the movie theatres. Sometimes, we all need something fun and frivolous in our lives. Call it a #firstworldproblem.

If I was one of those who can afford to go to the movies all the time, I would probably watch it again. But I’m not of the leisurely class.  And so, I will have to simply wait for it to come out on video before I will get the opportunity to enjoy it once again.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

