Perk Me Up

I have an absolutely horrid cold. My nose is all stuffed up, and as red as Rudolph’s nose when it isn’t busy running away like a faucet that cannot be turned off. Not coughing very much but the throat is scratchy and I can’t seem to taste anything. I’m so glad I’m back living with my parents because when I’m sick, I get to act like a baby and I’m treated like one. I’ve got bottles of lovely herbal tea made by my mother. Her simplest recipe is taking a bunch of dried chrysanthemum and putting hot water for a couple of minutes. It doesn’t sound like much, but its very soothing for the scratchy dry throat.

According to Epicurious, that’s known as a tisane. Apparently you can do that with any sort of herbs. According to the Livestrong website, a smoothie made of orange and honey can also do the trick.

I’ll admit, the only one thing I’m truly looking forward to is a Moscow Mule. Especially if its served in a pretty copper cup. The recipe is quite simple too:

Ingredients

2 ounces rosemary-infused vodka
Juice from 1/2 lime
Sparkling pear juice
Ginger beer
Dash of bitters

Method

fill a mug with ice, then add two ounces of the vodka and the lime juice. Fill the mug about three-quarters of the way with the sparkling pear juice, then top off with a splash of ginger beer and a dash of bitters. Stir to combine and serve.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

