Foo House

It had been a rather rough and long week and even though the Julia Roberts version of Snow White was going to be on tv on Sun night, I decided I needed a good dinner outside.

I called up theCube because he lives really close to Jalan Pari Birong and has never eaten at Foo House before. Akiko and I had eaten there last Christmas and I rather enjoyed it even though at that time I thought my duck was a little dry. But I was probably being picky because to be honest, most duck dishes are a bit on the dry side. plus who doesn’t like a good pun?

This time I tried their fish and chippies which I thought was quite good. The fish was fresh and tender. And it tasted really good with my pint of Stella.
The chips (ie fries for my American readers) were nice and very crispy.

TheCube tried the duck. And boy, did he polish it off quickly. He said it was good. I guess I’ll have to take his word for it. It certainly looked more tender than the last time. By the time we were done, we were stuffed and it was impossible to order dessert.

All said and done, it was a satisfying meal. Its byob with no corkage fee for those so inclined. Decent selection of beer and wine as well. I really wish we had room for dessert though.

The ambience of the place is a bit weird. The lighting was really soft and the decor was a bit on the dingy side. But I guess they were going for the laid back beach hut look even though the closest link to the beach is the longkang (ie drain) half a block away.

They are open daily from 12pm to 3pm and from 6pm to 10pm. Their physical menu looks like it can do with an overhaul. And they can really use a professional photographer to take pictures of their food. But then again, I’m there to eat, not ogle at their menu, right?

For further reviews:
Ho Chiak
Hungry Go Where
Lady Iron Chef

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

