moving back in with the parents

So I’ve officially moved back in with my parents for almost a year now. And its been an interesting journey so far. As far as I can figure out, I seem to have regressed to my 19yo self. The same person who left Singapore for the USA at the age of 19yo does not seem to have grown up at all. And I think part of the reason is that well, its so comfortable being home. Everything is done for me. My meals are all taken care of, the mortagage, the bills, etc are all taken care of. Yes, I work. But most of my paycheque goes to my mother to pay the bills. So I don’t even have to think about it. I don’t have to worry about the fridge being empty or go get groceries. Or worry that I may not have underwear to wear the next day because I have yet to do the laundry because everything is done for me.
And yet, I don’t think I’m entirely comfortable at home. Part of the reason is that this is my parent’s home. I can’t decorate it the way I want it or arrange things the way I want it. Nor can I have it as messy as I want it. I’m not a clean freak. Never have been. But my mother is. I don’t cook. Part of it is because she does it all. But the other reason is, well, I just don’t feel comfortable in her kitchen. So the usual things that I do to de-stress are no longer an option for me. Sometimes I wonder if the pros outweight the cons. Will I ever grow up? Or will I choose to stay 19yo because its more comfortable and because it seems to make the people around me happier?

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

