crap

I will now like to officially start panicking.

I start family residency next week. I’m scared. I haven’t seen an adult patient since my 3rd year of medical school. I’m a pediatrician. I know what to do if I have a diabetic kid or a kid with hypertension. Give me an adult and well, I would like to put my hands over my ears and wish it away. Please.

But now, I’m supposed to show up at an acute care clinic and care for patients as if I’ve been doing this for ages. I would like to cry now. Because I’m a physician with well patients most of the time. My primary focus is to keep kids well. And give vaccines. And to spot when they are ill and have them hospitalized. I’m not the kind of person who has been trained to take care of adults who have not been taking care of themselves and now expect me to fix their diabetes or their hypertension.

Help.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

