Where’s my Katong?

hear hear! I was a KC girl and katong used to be an ‘expensive’ area for me to hang out in. It was always such a nice treat to be allowed to wander along there after school (normally only because mom didn’t have time to cook lunch). But it really has lost quite a bit of its character…

Bertha Harian

This post has nothing to do with the news of the day. It’s personal and, therefore, totally unreasonable. You’ve been warned.

Two days ago, I spent a whole afternoon in my old stomping ground, Katong. I stomped and stomped. In frustration and rage.

You see, I am a Katong Girl. And I felt like I was in Holland Village.

As a young girl with a ponytail, I accompanied my late grandmother to Katong when she made her visits to nonya relatives. They were all on streets with names of fruits…Our visits would always include a visit to Tay Ban Guan, where she bought me my first Enid Blyton book. It would end with a pork satay treat at a coffeeshop on the main East Coast Road, at 10 cents a stick with a side of peanut and pineapple gravy. It was…expensive…

Of course, Tay Ban Guan has long been gone…

View original post 742 more words

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

