I HAVE FINGERNAILS FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE!!

I realize that its such a silly post but I’m truly excited. For years and years and years (well, most of my life really), I’ve had short stubby stumps for fingers. My fingernails have never reached any sort of enviable length or even a length in which a lady can be proud of. The reason (obviously) is that I’m a nail biter. I bite my nails when I’m nervous, when I’m bored, when I’m agitated. I also bite out of sheer habit. Its a disgusting habit, I know. But I do it anyway. My mom always shudders when she looks at the sorry condition of my nails. And other than a short spell in Chicago when I paid to have fake nails pasted onto my short stumps, I have never had my nails protruding beyond the length of my nailbed. In short, I would be severely handicapped if I was to ever be involved in a cat fight.

Alas! No longer! Substituting my nail biting habit for copious amount of coffee drinking, my nails, for the first time in my life, are now protruding beyond the nail bed. My mom is no longer clucking like a nervous hen over my short stubby fat fingers. The fingers (unfortunately) are still fat, but they have attained a certain elegance to them with the acquisition of the nails. I have white tips (ok, so not completely white..but you get the drift). Its all, in short, VERY EXCITING.

Yep. That’s it. I just want to record this in black and white for all prosperity. I HAVE NAILS. I’m sure in a week of so, it will be worn down to stumps again. But I have nails, au nautrale, and I’m rightly proud of them.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

