Happy 4th of July

Another year, another Independence Day. This time last year, I was in my last year of residency. A week from meeting D, and staying at a Holiday Inn in Torrance. Today, I’m in an apartment in Torrance while D is working. Last year, I went to a party as someone’s third wheel. I think this year I’m going to sit in the safety and comfort of my home and watch a lot of TV. But I did go to the beach, and I know I’ve lived in the US for 15 years now, but I am only just beginning to realize that people here use the 4th of July as an excuse to drink a lot and wear the flag as a dress.

Even though I am no longer working, I would like to remind everyone with children to please keep them away from the fireworks. Seriously. For the sake of those poor ER doctors who are already stuck dealing with the drunks, I’m pretty certain they don’t want to deal with the smell of burnt skin, or face having to tell you that they aren’t able to attach those limbs back. Just sayin’. Also, please do not drink and drive. Seriously. Not only will it make your 4th of July a very costly holiday, it may result in you not being able to celebrate it again. Just saying.Image

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

