4th of July fireworks

Its been a while since I’ve had the pleasure of celebrating 4th of July. I think the last time I saw some 4th of July fireworks was …hmmm…I can’t even remember when that was! Anyway, I finally got a chance to see the CameraMan and his new girl. She’s nice. Independent, confident, red hair. He’s very happy with her. He’s got this sweet shy smile around her. And I will admit, I felt a little jealous. Just a little.

Anyway, they took me to this 4th of July party. Their friend, who also happens to be a lighting technician in Hollywood, apparently goes all out for the 4th of July. He does this huge fireworks show in his neighborhood. I will admit, I was expecting some frat-house type of party but when I got there, the guy’s whole family was there, little children to older adults. Everyone just chilling out and having food and having fun. It was like an unofficial block party.

And he had speakers and lighting equipment out on the street. They had some random pre-fireworks fun but when the set up for the real show started, I started to get rather excited. And also a little scared. In Singapore, fireworks are illegal and the only time we see them is during National Day. My understanding is that fireworks in the USA are only legal for a rather limited period of time for the purposes of celebrating 4th of July. The only fireworks display I have seen have been official fireworks display by professionals.

Not to say that this guy isn’t a professional. He is, but he wasn’t doing it at an official event, this was a private party. There were no paramedics standing by, or fire trucks around. As a pediatrician, I was understandably nervous. But as an audience…I was excited!

I was beginning to feel rather homesick and neglected. But it was so nice catching up with CameraMan and the party was just so much fun and homely, I think some of that homesickness has gone. At least, for now anyway.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

