It is called Fortnum blues in England, and not Tiffany blues

 Last weekend, I met up with an old classmate from Junior College with the Cube. K was someone that I knew would be Valedictorian, but he was never really someone that I had ever hung out with or even knew very much about. But he went to Cambridge with the Cube and the Cube had planned to meet up with him. So I suggested high tea at Fortnum and Masons. So the Cube got us reservations at the Jubilee tea room at Fortnum and Masons. I had forgotten how expensive high tea in London is but then again, it was a rather fun experience, and the food was rather good. I was quite surprised to find out that the blue-ness of the china at the Jubilee tea room was the same shade of blue as Tiffany’s. I had a duck’s egg with some roasted vegetables, followed by scones and other desserts, and one very big pot of super delicious tea.

In addition, I had *quite* a nice time, rather unexpectedly so. It always surprises me how much we have all changed since JC. Or how little I knew anyone at all during my school going days in Singapore. I wish I had made more of an effort in getting to know people when I was younger. I think the only real effort I made in trying to know people was when I was in University. But after I left University, I seemed to have lost all interest in trying to forge the same sort of relationships I had when I was in University.

Anyway, walking around Fortnum and Mason’s, we found some *interesting* things. Like Scorpion vodka for instance. I was almost tempted to get myself a small bottle just to taste it but I really don’t think my liver would be able to take it.

And funny looking shower caps, an exhibit of fascinators (modeled after food), and a variety of (heavy) magnifying glasses. I don’t think Fortnum and Masons counts as a London tourist attraction, but I do think that if you are in London for a couple of days, it definitely bears a quick visit. And besides, what else can be more British than enjoying an afternono of high tea?

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

