Beer chicken


Step 1
Step 2

A couple of days ago, I got my hands on 5 bottles  of Beck. I decided that I was going to make some beer chicken. A quick search on google led to several recipes which were quite basic: fry the vegetables, fry the chicken, combine them both and add the beer and keep cooking. It sounded simple enough so I decided to give it a try.

First, I browned the chicken (3 pieces of chicken thigh). Except I have no idea what ‘browning’ really means. I decided that if it was a little pink, it would be ok because it would still have to be cooked in the beer for a long time after that anyway. After browning the chicken in olive oil, I fried an onion (chopped up) and a tomato (also chopped up) using the olive oil from the chicken. Then I transferred the onion and tomato, and the chicken into the pot, added in enough beer to cover the chicken (in this case, it was a whole bottle) and allowed it to simmer for about 10 mins and transferred it to my thermal pot for the night. I also added a teaspoon of allspice to the mix. I figured…why not? I like the taste of it. I wasn’t certain if it would turn out well with the beer but it worked with wine before so …I’m pretty certain that if I had allowed it to simmer for an hour, it would have been sufficient. But I was tired and not really hungry at 11pm and I figured it would be better served as breakfast the next morning.

The next morning, I made some vermicelli and had my chicken with it. It wasn’t Michelin-star material, but it was quite delicious. The gravy was nice and thick and sweet. On hindsight, I think I might need to brown the chicken a bit more next time before mixing it up with the vegetables. I did end up having to heat the chicken up in the oven for an extra 15 mins. I think if the meat (on the outside anyway) had at least been cooked, allowing it to be cooked thoroughly with the sauce would have been a better idea. I’m also pretty certain that Jamie Oliver would have suggested I marinated or at least seasoned the chicken before cooking but I was too lazy. Maybe next time I will try to be a bit less lazy…

Finished product
Finished!
Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

