Herman, the Friendship cake

An adolescent Herman, pimples and all

I received Herman last Friday. Since then, I’ve been stirring him once a day, everyday. And on the 5th day, I fed him a helping of sugar, flour and milk as instructed. In about 3 days, he’ll get another helping, and get divided into 4 portions. The day after, I’ll have to hope that my baking skills have not gone to crap and I’ll be able to make a decent cake out of him. So far, all he has done is get bloated and give off a funny smell. Very much like a teenager if you ask me.

Apparently, Herman is also known as the Amish friendship cake. A quick search on google will bring up multiple blog posts about Herman and the recipes. You can make your own starter dough or get one from a friend. Obviously, I’m not crazy enough to make my own starter, mine was given by a friend here. Except now I have no one to give Herman to when he’s all ready! Still, I’ve had at least 2 reincarnations of him for dessert and I’m actually trying to figure out how to bake him when he’s ready. Suggestions? And if anyone wants a piece of him and you live in London….let me know!

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

One thought on “Herman, the Friendship cake”

Leave a Reply

