Flapjack disaster

Flapjacks should be pretty easy to make, right? I mean, according to the recipe I found, oats, melted butter,sugar, a bit of vanilla, the oven, some chocolate chips, and it should be done in 20 mins. easy-peasy, right? except for someone who is a disaster in the kitchen of course. Nothing is ever easy.To begin with, there are a lot of flapjack recipes out there. Some involve honey (oh man, I can imagine the smoke filling out of the oven if I had used that recipe). Most of the ones I found involved the use of a microwave. I don’t have one so I used the oven instead but most of the ready to cook meals by Marks and Spencers have options between microwaves and ovens so I figured it wasn’t a big deal. Except it is. The chocolate got burnt. Burnt chocolate tastes awful. Oh, and I didn’t add golden syrup or honey. Somehow I forgot. But honestly, I think its because when I copied the recipe (by hand onto a napkin I might add), I didn’t put the words golden syrup on it. Anyway, without my camera phone, I’ve had to settle for the cybercam on my netbook. The lighting isn’t great (like duh…you try maneuvering a livecam attached inside your netbook…i mean, there’s a reason why Skype dating doesn’t work. To look good in person is hard enough, looking even somewhat flattering over a webcam requires monumental effort). BUT, I suppose if you want to try making flapjacks the right way, try this recipe (it received 4 1/2 stars from allrecipe):

 

Ingredients

Serves: 12
  • 75g (3 oz) butter
  • 5 tablespoons light brown soft sugar
  • 2 tablespoons golden syrup
  • 150g (5 oz) porridge oats
  • 50g (2 oz) sultanas
  • 50g (2 oz) glace cherries, chopped
  • 50g (2 oz) dried apricots, chopped

Preparation method

Prep: 10 mins |Cook: 5 mins

1. Place the butter, sugar and syrup in a microwave safe bowl and cook on high power for 1 to 2 minutes, or until butter is melted. Stir in the oats, sultanas, cherries and apricots and mix thoroughly.
2. Press mixture into a small greased baking dish. Cook on high power for about 5 minutes or until the centre is bubbling. Allow to cool then cut into squares.
Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

