Jamie Oliver’s Chicken in Milk

Picture from The Kitchn. Mine looked similar but the skin was less roasted.

So last night, in a moment of madness, I decided that I was going to try Jamie Oliver’s Chicken in Milk recipe. It had received a good review from The Kitchn and so I figured, why not? I mean, I still have the milk that the kids had left behind, and I had just bought chicken. I have ground cinnamon, and spring onions and garlic cloves. Its very rare that I actually have raw ingredients to make real food and this was as good a time as any to try it. Of course, the recipe calls for a cinnamon stick, and sage leave which I obviously substituted with the spring onion and ground cinnamon. But I figured that the whole point was to dunk the chicken in milk anyway. Other changes I made was to half the amount of milk that the recipe dictated. I’m lactose intolerant (to a degree) and even though I know that cooked milk probably won’t give me any grief, I didn’t want to test it out at 8.30pm. I also did not brown the chicken properly during the frying in the butter part of it. Oh yeah, I used half of the butter that was in the recipe. The idea of frying anything in butter was new to me and I really didn’t want to have anything too buttery. I’m not sure if that made a difference when it came to frying the chicken. If its because my lack of skills resulted in it not having a crispy skin, or if its because I didn’t use enough butter. I have to admit, even with the changes, the chicken turned out pretty good. For one thing, it was tender and soft, and the cinnamon added a nice touch. Oh, I also substituted lime for lemon ( I didn’t have lemon at home) and I didn’t add zest, just the juice. I don’t know how to zest a lime. Or a lemon to be honest. But I figured the juice should be sufficient. I only wish i had taken a picture. But it smelled so good, and I was so hungry, I ate, what should have been a meal for 3-4 people, by myself. In one sitting. *smack head* Is there any wonder why none of my clothes fit anymore? Anyway, for a person who can’t cook, and doesn’t cook, this really wasn’t too bad. I think if I ever decide to have some alone time, at home, and drink lots of wine by myself while cooking, I’ll use this recipe again!

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

