SOHO Theatre-Greg Proops

On wednesday night, a friend invited me along to the Greg Proops show at the Soho Theatre. For those who know me, it will come as a surprise that I actually agreed to go since a) it was at 10pm, b) it was in SOHO at 10pm. Why? Because I’m pretty much a homebody. If I’m going to go to a party, I’m normally there by 7pm. If I’m out by 7pm, I will probably stay out. BUT, if I’ve had the chance to go home, have dinner, and then am expected to leave my apartment to be somewhere by 10pm? It ain’t going to happen. But I made the effort to go because this guy lives like about an hour away and if he was going to stay for the show and potentially miss his last train home, I figured it had to be good.

Anyway, from what I gathered, this Greg Proops guy is a pretty famous comedian.  The show was advertised as being an improvisation session, and it was going to be podcast. And because it is in SOHO Downstairs, there was going to be a bar. I have to admit, I was a little wary though. At Spring Fair, when we brought in the Saturday Night Live troop, some of the acts were pretty bad. A lot of it was racist and made me uncomfortable. A friend said that it was probably a cultural thing.

Well, I was pleasantly surprised. I actually understood quite a bit of the jokes. No racist jokes or anything. The guy is pretty articulate for the most part, and was sober, for the most part. He had some pretty intelligent things to say, but he made it funny. He was into black and white 30s movies, matured around the 70s, likes the Beatles and loves making fun of McCartney. In short, I had a brilliant time. So it really was worth the 10quid.  I’m sure if you look hard enough, you’ll find the podcast for the improv session somewhere. Worth downloading.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

