travels

Remember the day that Prince William and Ms. Kate Middleton got married and became the new Duke and Duchess of Cambridge? Well, that was also my last day at work. And no, I’m not a genius who graduated from residency a year early. I just no longer am a resident. Period. Rather traumatic day. Still trying to process it. But at least it happened before I got on the plane to Paris so I had some time to calm myself. And no, I didn’t quit my job just to go to Paris. That would be a rather dramatic story and one I wish was true. But its ok. After 2 weeks of running around in Paris (!!) and Bruxelles, and one weekend in Penang, I’m back in Singapore. Calmer, but still lost. And maybe still slightly bewildered. I’m still trying to try to come to grips with the reality of the situation. Probably not going to happen until I’m actually back in St. Louis to pack up or throw out the bad memories. I’m not happy about being jobless but I have to admit, I’m secretly pleased about not having to go back there anymore. I suppose I should have written about this earlier. But truth be told, I wasn’t sure what I was going to write about. I still don’t really. I just needed to say something just so I can get on with the business of writing about all the fun I had in Europe…good ole Europe. Never fails to disappoint.

IMG_0713IMG_0743IMG_0421

Whose is bigger?

Because seriously, what can be more fun than a city with headless martyrs that go on walking and preaching after being beheaded? Or one where phallic symbols are aplenty and even marble statues of gods comparing looking at their crown jewels are proudly displayed. Or where mosaic vandalism becomes an art form? There is even a merry go round right in front of city hall!

CIMG2952
Supporting the freedom to pee

Well, I suppose a city such as Bruxelles that takes the 9th art form (aka Comics) so seriously, they have a whole museum devoted to it in a building built in the art noveau style might be ever so slightly better. Or perhaps a city where there are public urinals and men basically just unzip their pants and go and a statue that celebrates peeing in public, which the nearby pubowner actually dresses up in a different costume every day.

IMG_1795
Look at me pee

And did I mention that there are chocolatiers around every corner?? And of course I can’t possibly go anywhere without encountering some sort of public protest and sure enough,

there was a taxi strike on my very first day there! Nonetheless, I still managed to get a cab to the hotel. I had wayy too much luggage to take the subway to the hotel even though the train station was RIGHT IN FRONT of the hotel (yeah, I know. I’m lazy.)

CIMG2880

Alas, a vacation is a vacation. And all good things have to come to an end. An end it certainly did. Now that I’m back home I really need to figure out what I want to do with the rest of my life.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

