illustrations

Hummingbirds from Ernst Haeckel's Kunstformen der Natur (1900)

I read this article in the NY Times about taxonomy and was really impressed by the art work. Recently I’ve been really enthralled by the artwork in old science books. Most of the science books that have been in my possession have been textbooks for school. And they were hand-me-downs that were heavily used before the Internet came of age. Since college, I’ve been relying on the library and the internet since textbooks in the US are so expensive when compared to Singapore. Also, they are heavy. But man, I would LOVE to own a copy of Ernst Haeckel’s Kunstformen der Natur even though I won’t understand a single word of it.  Or even be given a chance to really be able to look through an original copy Darwin’s Origin of Species.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

