orienting to my new environment

I’ve just completed a whole week of orientation and I’ve got at least half a week more to go. Although I haven’t officially started, I’m already beginning to feel inadequete, not to mention panicky. As it is, I nearly failed neonatal resuscitation, and I failed PALS. Thankfully they allow you to retake the exam…but still. PALS isn’t exactly difficult, and yet I couldn’t pass it. It makes me fear for my patients. Sometimes I wonder if I did the right thing by deciding to go into a clinical residency. Maybe I should have gone into research. Realizing the limits of one’s abilities is the mark of a true professional, no? And I think by refusing to acknowledge my lack of skill and heading into a clinical residency, I may be putting my patient in danger.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

