Mr. Rubberneck

The boys left for Bratislava really early today and as a result I didn’t go with them since the boy did not knock on my door. I found out only after I called him through skype. But it was ok. I was determined to go somewhere so I took a tram to Sudbanhoff, bought myself a round trip ticket and ran to board the train. While looking for a seat, I saw a girl sitting by herself. Remembering the conversation I had with the World Travellor extraordinaire, I decided to sit next to her. As the train started to pull out of the station, I took a deep breath and started a conversation. Turns out she was on a on-the-whim trip to Bratislava too. We decided to walk around the little city together. I’m so glad I found a German-English speaker because I really don’t know how I would have found my way around the town otherwise. It was a really nice relaxing day with random walks down random paths and finding random statues that were actually listed on the tourist maps. Bratislava sure has a lot of monuments. They even have a pink castle called Primate castle! Unfortunately for us, we missed an early train back to Wein and when she went to take a smoke on the platform before the second train left, she got ticketed for smoking! I only had 10 euros left (while she had none) so thankfully the officer let her off despite her paying only half the fine! quite a fun day really. i was just a little disappointed that I didn’t get an entry stamp in my passport since Slovakia is now part of the EU and people can travel rather freely without going through customs.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

