back home?

I’m back in Bethesda. Interviewing in DC and Baltimore. Also trying to complete last year’s project. I’m having second thoughts about trying to return here for residency. Don’t get me wrong. There are great programs here. And living in the DC-Baltimore area is probably going to be a lot more comfortable (temperature and cost of living being much lower than Chicago). And I know I’ve been talking about moving back here for quite a while now.

But now, I’m not so sure.

In many ways, I know this area better than Chicago. I feel less overwhelmed here. But residency is a whole new ballgame. I’m going to have to learn from scratch how the hospital works and functions. Its going to be like starting all over again. But if I stay in Chicago, I already know some of the faculty, I know some of the fellows (fine, actually even dated one of them), and I know the hospital system. So while I’ve been complaining about Chicago, a huge part of that was because I didn’t have any friends there. But now I do. Sort of. Granted many have left. But many have left. And perhaps staying might help because I’ll be one of the more ‘experienced’ ones. Coming back here will sort of be like starting all over again. Also, I’m a little worried. I’ve built up in my head how nice it would be to return to the Baltimore-DC area. I’m worried that all of this is nostalgia for the good old times and if things don’t live up to expectation, I’ll still be sad and miserable and this time, I’ll have no one else to blame but myself. Maybe it might be a better idea to move someplace completely different?

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

