new year’s resolutions

So I didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions this year. Perhaps its because it doesn’t feel like I’ve entered the New Year or that Jan 1 was any different from Dec 31. I’m still in the middle of an ‘academic’ year, still in school, still interviewing for the ever elusive residency spot. Should I make a resolution? How do you make resolutions when you don’t know where you will be by June or even where you want to be (both physically and perhaps mentally?)? I suppose the point of resolutions is that it forces you to re-evaluate your life thus far and make those changes to get you to your new goals. And I suppose as part of that reflection, new goals is also part of the point.

Unfortunately, I am still as lost as I was last year. No. scrap that. Last year I was not lost. Last year I thought I was happy. I thought I knew where I would be going. I thought that perhaps I finally found someone that would be a part of my life for a while. I was beginning to consider planning my life around the life I thought we would be building together. By the mid of Feb, that was over.

Well, this year. I’m lost. I figured out I want to be a pediatrician. Last year. I thought I wanted to go back to the East Coast so that I would at least be close to my close friends who live on the East Coast. But now, I’m not so sure. I have a couple more interviews to go. But at the end of it, I need to rank the programs. Sometimes I wish I have more time.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

