the end of the world?

Earthquakes and aftershocks, killer tornados, and serial killers. Its no wonder that I have stopped reading the news.  Sometimes I wonder if the world is coming to an end. 

During my first year of medical school, I started to shut the world out.  I lived in my bubble.  My student bubble.  Focusing on myself and all my miseries and made-up calamities.  But I realised that it was selfish. If I was going to be a doctor, I had to take an active interest in my community.  I started to volunteer with the  YWCA.  Then I started to question if my real vocation was medicine or if perhaps I had chosen the wrong path.  Maybe research was my true calling.  Having spent a year here at the NIH, I know that I want to be a physician scientist.  I won’t be able to cure cancer or Alzheimer’s disease but I know that if I continue exploring the world of research, eventually, I will make some sort of contribution. But I made the commitment to be a doctor.  Yes, perhaps I have ‘paid’ for it with tuition and my youth, but medical schools took a risky investment when they accept students into their school because like it or not, that $200,000 (give or take) from tuition really doesn’t even cover the expenses of training a medical doctor.  With taxpayer’s dollars, they made an investment in me with the expectation that I would repay society by providing healthcare for the taxpayers and I don’t intend to renegade on that commitment.

Everytime I find myself questioning if all the sacrifices my family has made for me to be here is worth it, I have to remind myself that it will be because eventually I will be a doctor, eventually, I will be a scientist.  Eventually I will realise my dreams to make something of myself.  Perhaps the world is coming to an end. But before it does, the time I have in it, I want to do something useful, something meaningful.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

One thought on “the end of the world?”

Leave a Reply

