match day jitters

In my opinion, one of the most significant benchmarks in a medical student’s career is that the third thursday of March in 4th year, at precisely 11.00am, after you’ve been anxiously holding that white envelope for what seems like eternity while the rest of your classmates are still getting theirs, when you can rip (carefully!) the envelope up to read where you will be spending the next couple of years of your training.  It is a moment of elation, and most definitely relief because there is no more second guessing, no more hoping.  You know.  You belong somewhere.  You are going to have a job.  Somebody, no make that, a hospital wants you to work for them.  YAY! 

I’ve attended every match day in the past 3 years. because I either happen to be there (too broke to go anywhere on Spring break) or I know someone who is matching.  Unfortunately, this year, I won’t be there for my classmates because I’m still going to be here in Bethesda, working on my research project.  While all my classmates will find out where they go, I am still here, wondering what the heck I want to do when I grow up.  I’m so proud of them, and so happy for them.  But I have to admit, I am extremely jealous.  I want to be in their shoes.  But I made this choice.  I knew I needed a break.  And I wanted to learn something different.  So I took a year off.  And soon, it will be my turn to return to school and to start that process, and hopefully to be on the same road to residency.

So the big question is: Peds or Medicine?

Congratulations the class of 2008.  Pity no one from that class will be reading this.  But its ok.  Because they all know I miss and love them and that I am extremely happy for them.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

