pulling out that race card

I was reading Philosomatic’s entry on his entertaining visit to the DMV in DC.  Because Philosomatic described it so well, I would hate to destroy it with my inept writing skills.  Instead, I’m just going to quote this paragraph:

Apparently, the drunk lady was applying for a driver’s license. The DMV worker informed her that they would not license a currently-drunk person to drive. The drunk lady went off, and yelled “This is RACIST! This is because I’m BLACK! DC don’t give no breaks to people like ME!” I’m sure the (African-American) DMV worker had seen behavior like this before, and decided not to take anything from this lady. The DMV worker got up from her stool, and paused a minute before yelling back at her: “MA’AM! TAKE a look around you. There are only three white folks in this entire building! This is NORTHEAST! It’s not because you’re black, it’s because you’re DRUNK!”

I’m not saying that racism does not exist.  It, unfortunately, does.  Its an ugly ugly fact.  But the problem is that people pull out the race card way too often for good taste and then when it does matter, it no longer has as much of an impact.  Remember the little boy who cried wolf?  I sometimes think that is what is happening in our society today.

 Do I think that people are looked at differently and treated differently simply because of their skin color or the language that they speak or the way they dress?  Yes.  I’ve experienced it several times myself.  Am I pissed because of it?  Yes.  But I also know that for me to get to where I want to go, I need to keep pushing and to keep working hard and to keep snatching every opportunity that comes my way.  Whinning and complaining isn’t really going to do me much good.  Do I think that lobbying for equality and rights is important? Yes.  But pulling out the race/gender card only when you are being inconvenienced really doesn’t do the cause very much good at all and in my opinion, only damages all the hardwork put in by others who are working hard to create, if not ensure, that every man and woman, regardless of race or religion is treated equally.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

