There is no beauty without pain

242767597_815379137_0.jpg

Mother Nature likes pretty things.  But if you ask any woman with perfectly plucked eyebrows, dressed to the nines in heavy dangly earrings, tight black dress and 3-inch shoes, she will tell you: “Honey, you gotta suffer for beauty”.

It rained during freezing temperatures yesterday.  What that really means is that even though we didn’t get any snow, all the roadways froze over.  There’s ice everywhere.  Invisible ice.  You can’t see it, but it will make its presence felt as you slide all the way down the slope on your buttocks.  No, wait.  That’s not true.  You can see it.  Icicles on the trees.  Its pretty.  Magnificent.  A work of art.  A miracle.  But its there to taunt you.  Look at how pretty I look!  But look out hon, you are about to fall on your buttocks!  The layer of mist that hung over the trees today made me feel as if I was permanantly suspended in a dream.  Actually, I wanted to go back to my room, crawl under the covers and enjoy the beauty.  Alas!  Reality took a grip of me.  “Go to work!  You are late already!”  And so I glided, slided and hung onto the ice-cold railings for dear life as I made my way to my destination.  Only to find out I don’t have my ID.  Oh well.  I’ll live. 

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

