taking off for the weekend

I simply left.  Packed a change of clothes in my backpack and left.  For Boston.

 Sounds romantic, doesn’t it? No plans.  A simple impulse to leave.  The truth is I had bought the tickets almost two months ago but the time leading to it had been so filled with activities, I did very little planning except maybe book a bed (yes! not a room but a bed!) in the International Hostel in Boston.  And then I emailed/SMSed/called the people I know in Boston.  And then I showed up.  Encountered Hurricane Noel. But I also got to see my friends.  Even walked down Newbury St (at first I thought it was a tiny st but when the tiny walk became almost a trek, I realised this was Boston’s Magnificent Mile).  I tried the Freedom trail and Boston Common but somehow never finished it.  Found out that Paul Revere was quite short and had 16 children.  And Sam Adams isn’t just a beer…he’s an actual historical figure.  Shelved aside for my next trip there.  I did go to Cambridge and wandered around the squares belonging to the three Universities: Tufts, Harvard (the University that shall not be named) and MIT (which Harvard tried to buy several times over the past few decades).  Three very distinct personalities.

I also learnt that I can rough it out..for one night.  More than one night of staying in a room with 5 other girls, sharing a tiny bathroom/shower facility is definitely not my thing. Perhaps when I was younger…and a little more adventurous.  But I think I’ve grown too old…too set in my ways and wayyy too pampered.  But for one night, I can suck it up.

I also learnt that old habits die hard.  Let’s leave it at that.

 And now I am back.  Just found out that I have to do journal club next week. And I have homework/discussion for my class due Wed.  Busy.  Very busy.  Need to remember to breathe.

sigh.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

