dismal writing skills

Growing up in a developing country where the emphasis in education was on creating a future productive workforce, reading and writing skills were seen as ends to the means of having a literate population.  Unfortunately, I don’t think I ever learnt how to really write or read for that matter.  And the worst part of it is I went to Catholic school where there was a strong emphasis on reading English literature, particularly the classics.  But I don’t think I really ever learnt how to write with thought.  Sure, creative writing was probably a larger part of my life compared to most of my countrypersons, but I fear I lack the essential skills to write in a critical manner.

Although I headed North to continue my education, my choice of University, despite its claims of having the no. 2, if not no. 1 program in writing seminars did nothing to improve my critical writing skills.  With the threat of failing out of school, and hence disappointing my parents, I stuck to what I knew I was semi-good at: Science despite an inclination to try something new.  Not that I regret it. I had a great college experience: fell in love, fell out of love, did research, organized stuff, had great and horrid roommates.  I grew up in college.  I semi-figured out what I wanted to do with my life.  I also discovered that you don’t need to know absolutely how you want to live your life.  It is ok to only have a half-baked plan.  You never know what life will throw at you and you are probably better off having the flexibility to allow your life-plans to change.

I took as many creative writing classes as I could (hence, once again, sticking to what I know best), took only two english classes.  Those were probably the hardest classes I had ever taken.  I really regret not having had the guts to keep challanging myself.  Being a chicken is kicking my arse right now.  As a scientist who can’t write, I struggle everyday to defend my ideas and my work.  And I’m still learning how to go about doing research.  sigh.

Published by

ChiefMonkey

I've been swinging from place to place looking for new adventures every day.

Leave a Reply

